Skip to content

The Gallery : Transformation

November 2, 2011

I’ve had my hair long for years but recently it’s been looking pretty crappy. It’s not the hair’s fault though. I’ve totally neglected it. Straightening the bejesus out of it every day (sometimes twice), not having it cut for months at a time (18 months this time, if you don’t count a trim by my mum which I don’t because it was so uneven I was even laughing at myself) and forgetting to put any kind of treatment on it to make it feel even that little bit better.

I wasn’t that surprised when it started breaking. I got a little disturbed when I realised how much was breaking off but in the end it just looked like it had been layered so I left it. I figured it was like dirty hair cleaning itself after a while – it’d just cut itself through breakages given long enough.

However, I realised a week or so ago when I ran my hands through my hair and so much broke off I had to get the vac out, that I needed a good cut. It took a lot for me to work up the courage – hours on the internet researching different lengths & celeb photos, trawling through old photos to see what I looked like years ago when it was shorter and in the end I went for it. Well kind of. Rome isn’t built in a day people! I resisted the urge for a Vicky B ‘I’ve just moved to California’  bob (not enough courage quite yet) and instead when for shoulder length layered.

It’s quite the transformation I think.  From very long (I like to say nipple length but I mean nipples from before I had Sam & breastfed for 7 months – now it’s about an inch above nipple length, if you know what I mean. Damn saggy boobs.)

I didn't get a proper 'before' photo so here is one of me freaking out whilst feeding a goat. LONG hair.

After. Craig said I should stop posting pics of me with stupid faces so I faithfully promised I would post a nice one.

Whoops!

Oh, a nice one.

IT'S ALL GONE!!!!!

Ok, a ‘proper’ one. I love it!!

It looks longer than it is here! My head feels about 3 lbs lighter & I am over the moon. I do kind of wish I’d had the guts to go a bit shorter but I can always do that next time if I still want to. 

I’ve already discovered 3 main benefits to not having very long hair:

1. I don’t trap it in my arm pit. This is good, especially after applying roll on deodorant.

2. I use approximately half the shampoo & conditioner I used before AND showers now take 10 minutes instead of 20. It used to take me bloody ages to wash and condition my hair. 

3. I will no longer get chop sticks stuck in it. Am I the only one who would get chop sticks stuck in my hair & then have to have a shower because I smelt of black bean sauce? Yes? Liars.

 So, what do you think?

This post is for this week’s The Gallery – the letter T. For more entries click here.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 9:29 am

    It looks lovely, much more ‘done’. The colour is absolutely gorgeous, it looks natural? Although as someone with cropped hair, I’m always urging people to go shorter. I went from about the length yours is now to short all over and totally loved it, especially people’s reactions. So be brave!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 2, 2011 1:59 pm

      Thanks! My hair colour is pretty natural but I have some help covering the greys nowadays 😦
      I love your hair. I’d love a crop too but it wouldn’t work with my weeble like body. I think I’d look like I had a little tiny pea head on a big fat body! When (if) I’m thin again I’ll defintitely go for it!

  2. November 2, 2011 10:56 am

    Lovely haircut. I think it suits you short.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 2, 2011 1:56 pm

      Thanks! I’m loving it now.

  3. November 2, 2011 2:00 pm

    That’s brilliant – I love the new look. Your hair looks really lovely now x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:20 am

      Oh thank you! I feel so much better!

  4. November 2, 2011 2:10 pm

    it looks lovely.
    I’m still laughing at the nipple comment though 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:22 am

      Oh to have the perky boobs of a teen! I didn’t know what I had until they were a couple of inches lower 😦

  5. November 2, 2011 3:05 pm

    It looks beautiful & I love the colour of your hair!
    I’ve been growing mine for ages and it’s only just sitting on my shoulders & I’m very tempted to have it all cut off at the moment.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:23 am

      Ooo, big decision! Good luck! Whatever you choose I’m sure it will look gorgeous!

  6. November 2, 2011 10:44 pm

    I LOVE the colour of your hair. Wowzers.
    And, err hello, why is no one else pointing out the cleavage on display!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:24 am

      Oh Tara, you’re making me blush! 😉 I did notice the extent of the cleavage but was pretty impressed myself (I swear it’s not like that in real life!) so decided to leave it. Showing me off in my best light & all that!

  7. actuallymummy permalink
    November 2, 2011 10:46 pm

    God how do you look that lovely pulling stupid faces?? Definitely a good hair makeover 🙂

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:25 am

      Haha! Not sure I’d call it lovely!! Thanks though 🙂

  8. November 2, 2011 10:54 pm

    Love it! Gorgeous colour too. I’m going to book myself a hair cut tomorrow now. x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:25 am

      Ooooo….didja didja?

  9. November 2, 2011 11:37 pm

    Woah lady you need to change your blog name from not such a yummy mummy to one freaking hot mummy. Really suits you!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:26 am

      Oh bless you Laura, you are lovely 🙂

  10. November 3, 2011 1:05 am

    Oooh, it looks lovely. Tres chic.
    Still giggling about the black bean sauce in the hair (never had that problem when my hair was long…)

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:26 am

      I’m ridiculous aren’t I? *sigh* I used to live in China too so there’s no excuse!

  11. helen permalink
    November 3, 2011 6:58 am

    Well I’m glad someone else pulled my sister on the boobies……HELLO!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Looking gorgeous em as always, yeah no more scaggy hair Thank god, my vac is only just recovering from your visit 4 months ago!!!! Love ya sisXXXX

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 4, 2011 9:28 am

      Me boobs? You boobs!!! Boob-a-licious!
      Sorry, I did seem to shed an extraordinary amount when I was staying with you!
      Mwah! Love you too Ratface! xxx

  12. November 7, 2011 6:17 pm

    Ooooh I love it – wish I was brave enough to do something with mine

Leave a Reply

