Skip to content

Party on!

August 9, 2012
tags:

We went to a birthday party this weekend. My friend’s gorgeous little boy was turning 2. Miraculously, despite the forecast of torrential rain, we had glorious sunshine and the kids were able to play in the garden. Cue swingball, running races, space hopping and balloon popping. Cue also swingball in the face, black eye, bloody nose and crying child. My crying child. Joy! His lovely Olympic t-shirt covered with blood stains (and grass stains from the space hopping, and ketchup from the burgers). It was only a minor injury though and after some cuddles and chocolate he was back playing with the other boys.

This is when I turn all ‘Mum’. Since I’ve become a parent I have qualified in Stain Removal ( a valid part of the Mothering Degree  Wiping Noses without Tissues, Entertaining a Small Child in a Restaurant When the Food is Late and, of course, Sleep Deprivation) and am the proud owner of 4 different types of Vanish. Oh yes, 4. I have the stain remover bar (my personal favourite), the in wash powder, the pre wash spray and the carpet cleaner – a god send when you STUPIDLY buy cream carpets for the bedrooms. Carpet stains a go go.  

I agree that life is too short to scrub skid marks from small children’s undies, or violent poo attacks from baby vests & baby grows but now Sam is older he has more expensive clothes that I want to keep & to last. I can’t tell you the number of hours I’ve spent scrubbing grass and blood stains out of my (not his!) favourites clothes. It also comes in handy with Craig who’s inability to eat a meal without dropping something down his top is quite remarkable. And I suppose I’m not immune. Well, someone who’s make up appears to be inspired by a Synchronised Swimming Team (I knew I was inspired by something!) is bound to coat the necks of most clothes in a fine layer of Clinique’s finest. For me, Vanish is a sanity/money/clothes saver and I am never without it.  

Birthday boy!

 

Advertorial

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2012 12:14 pm

    What beautiful children!! They must have a very pretty mother 😉

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 9, 2012 12:20 pm

      She’s alright – bit of a pain the arse though… 🙂

  2. 5kidswdisabilities permalink
    August 12, 2012 8:24 pm

    How prepared you are! I haven’t even mastered wiping their noses without a tissue!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      August 13, 2012 12:24 pm

      That’s the only thing I’m organised in – trust me!!

Leave a Reply

