Skip to content

Jenny Craig – Week 2

October 8, 2012

You can find the post about week 1 here.

Riding high on a loss of 7lbs I was eager to start the second week. Milly had talked me through the bigger picture of eating healthily (portion control, the food plate – ¼ protein, ¼ carbs ½ vegetables and a 250 calorie treat once a week) and I was impressed the advice. Although Milly knew I was only doing a 2 week trial I liked that she didn’t pressure me in to buying more products (though she did ask) and concentrated on healthy eating after Jenny Craig. Maybe I shouldn’t have been surprised as she is a qualified nutritionist but I did like that she was bothered about me losing weight to be healthy long term, she didn’t get funny when I said I would be finishing after the trial.

It was a tough week to be honest. We moved offices and I was far more active than usual all week. Meal times were all over the place and I did sneak a Boost when I needed extra energy to cart boxes around. The diet food was once again delicious – there was still plenty of variety which I was pleased about. I don’t like eating the same foods day in and day out which is what I was worried about when I started this plan. I had eaten my chocolate digestive biscuits which I was gutted about as they were lovely but made do with the white chocolate chip cereal bars.

Come weigh in day I was thrilled to see I had lost another 4lbs, making it a total 11lb loss in 2 weeks. Of course if you followed the plan for longer than I did that weight loss would even out at a steady 1-2lbs per week which is what anyone should aim for.

I was gutted when the trial came to an end. I have really enjoyed reviewing this eating plan. I found it incredibly easy to follow, the food was tasty and I appreciated the support from Milly (even though I was too busy to have a final consultation with her. Sorry Milly, nothing personal, just a bad few days!) It made me reassess my portion control (apparently I have no control whatsoever) and this is something I’ve been able to bring into my daily diet now. I’ve also massively increased my vegetable intake (from once a week ish to most days) and have an arsenal of low fat snacks I can turn to when I’m peckish. I’ve learnt I need to be prepared if I’m going to be healthy. I need to make sure I have nice food in to motivate me and most of all I have to plan. I do meal plan most weeks but it’s quite hit and miss. I have to make sure I meal plan every week, including my breakfasts, lunches and snacks. That way I can have everything in the cupboards ready and will find it much easier not just to grab something from Sam’s chocolate and biscuit stash.

Would I recommend Jenny Craig? Yes I would, if you have the money. A month’s food is from £249 (based on a 4 month programme) and to be honest, that’s just too much for me. If we weren’t as poor as church mice though (Craig’s hours have been reduced again) I would definitely do it. It was easy, tasty and it worked. You can’t say fairer than that.

A huge thanks to Jenny Craig for letting me trial their eating plan for 2 weeks. I originally did it as I wasn’t ovulating and my weight may have been  a factor in this. 2 weeks on the JC plan and this month I have ovulated (according to Clear Blue, doctors results still pending!). Losing almost a stone seems to have kick started my body back into gear!

One Comment leave one →
  1. helen permalink
    October 9, 2012 10:05 am

    Emma that is amazing!!! I am so happy for you and as always very proud of you. Keep up the good work…me and Ant have started the caveman plan…..google it!xx

Leave a Reply

