Skip to content

New directions

October 9, 2012

I’ve been stuck in a blogging rut lately. Lots of things have been going on but I haven’t been motivated to write much. I see the same posts in the Blogosphere all the time and as a result over the last couple of weeks I’ve been having a blog roll cull and a venture into new blogs. I’ve particularly been looking at fashion blogs. I find that most of these are aimed at the skinner & richer than me market but I’ve found some true gems that I am loving reading right now. My current two favourite are What Laura Loves and The Ramblings of Mrs Bebe. Both of these are written by gorgeous women who love fashion, buy the kind of clothes I like and are at the plus size end of the spectrum. They’ve shown me that being bigger doesn’t mean you have to wear crap clothes.

Until a couple of years ago I only really wore jeans/trousers and tops. Not very exciting. I got a revelation when my lovely friend Emma (who always looks fabulous) told me she didn’t wear jeans as they didn’t suit her. Now Emma is much slimmer than me but I realised that it doesn’t matter what size we are, we have to find clothes to suit our bodies. I know, I know, it’s nothing new but honestly it changed the way I thought. I looked at my body with it’s large hips and thighs,  small (ish) waist and medium sized boobs and realised that maybe, just maybe, jeans and trousers weren’t that great for me either.

I bought some dresses (ok, a lot of dresses), a few pair of leggings, some nice boots and felt 100% better about myself. These new fashion bloggers have taken that basis and made me look at other clothes too. I now have tunics and skinny jeans in my repertoire. I’m not quite confident for some of the more glam outfits (I really am not sure about me in skirts) but I’m learning from their confidence in their bodies and using it myself.

My blog doesn’t have to be all about Sam. In the evolving world of the Blogosphere we aren’t pigeon holed into one category, I don’t have to be a mummy blogger. I am just a blogger who will be writing not just about Sam, or my weight, or my ongoing saga of getting pregnant but about fashion (I really hate the term fatshion – why can’t fat people be fashionable, why do they have to label it fatshionable like it’s something different?), beauty (I am a make up compulsive after all but it isn’t really something I blog about) and my current favourite, nail varnish. Check out this picture from the other night. I found more nail varnishes hiding around the house after this was taken!

I have rediscovered my passion for blogging again, for now – I am very aware I work in fits and spurts! Expect some different posts coming up over the next few weeks.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2012 6:12 pm

    I would have arranged them by colour shade as well and at £4 each, eeek!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 9, 2012 7:38 pm

      £4?? My husband wishes they were £4 each! There’s quite a big range from £20+ to 99p Asda smart price grey. I’m not fussy!

  2. grumpyishmum permalink
    October 9, 2012 8:43 pm

    You are so right. I ditched jeans some time ago and now the only jeans I wear are skinnies. Mostly though its legging and a top (or a ‘dress’ as most people would call them!)

    You always look fab Emma – and I envy the motivation you have that makes you get out of bed and get ready ‘properly’ before going out. I opt for the extra time in bed before scraping back my hair and throwing on something closest to hand for the school run!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 10, 2012 12:17 pm

      Oh bless you. I only get myself ready because I look so genuinely hideous without a tonne of slap and I have a weird hairline so I don’t like wearing my hair up! Plus, when you saw me doing the school run last week I was going straight to work otherwise I would have been more casual.

      Getting ready for me is like putting my armour on – I’m really not confident at the best of times but it makes me feel more prepared for the day. You always look pretty & natural & fresh and I end up looking like a drag queen about to go clubbing!

  3. October 10, 2012 9:59 am

    Wow, I thought my nail varnish collection was impressive but that really is something else!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 10, 2012 12:17 pm

      Why thank you! I can’t decide if I’m proud or embarrassed about it! 🙂

  4. October 17, 2012 2:44 pm

    Thanks for the shoutout lovely!! So glad you’ve hit a new found confidence in clothes and yourself. Just wear what makes you feel good!!! X x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 19, 2012 8:19 am

      Hi Becky! Thanks for commenting. I am determined not to get bogged down in what I think I ‘should’ be wearing just because I am plus size. My husband isn’t very happy because it means more shopping! Whoop!

Leave a Reply

