Skip to content

The baby saga: the next step

October 25, 2012

Despite getting a positive opk a couple of weeks ago my blood tests show that I didn’t actually ovulate at all last month. My day 21 progesterone (which should be over 30 if you have ovulated) was less than 1. That’s even worse than last month when my result was 2. I went to see my doctor to discuss the options. We talked about going down the IVF route, she can’t refer us until we’ve been TTC for 2 years. That’s fine with us. We’re not sure if we would even attempt IVF. It’s not like this is our first baby, we’re lucky enough to have Sam and if he’s all that’s meant for us then that’s fine.

For now I’ve been prescribed Clomid which, as I don’t have PCOS, should work well for us. I’ve been told to take one tablet a day for 5 days starting on the second day of my period. ‘No problem’, I said! ‘My periods are as regular as clock work, I’ll let you know how we get on’. And off I pootled.

That was a week ago. My period is now 6 days late. I am not pregnant, I can’t be as I didn’t ovulate but I have done 3 tests to make sure – all negative. What on earth is happening?! I’m totally confused, I don’t know where I’m up to and I don’t want to bother the doctor just yet. I’ll give it another week and then decide whether to make an appointment or not.

I really appreciate all the support we’re getting from friends and family. I’ve had messages on email, through the blog, facebook, twitter, Instagram and in good old real life. 😉  Mainly people are asking if I’m ok, and I am. I honestly am. I’m frustrated and a bit pissed off but I’m not upset or devastated. Like I said, we have Sam and he’s our world. If we only have one baby we won’t feel like we’ve missed out. I’ll be a bit sad not to go through pregnancy again or have a shot at a natural birth after Sam’s disastrous entrance to the world, but we have far more than a lot of people and for that I’m very, very grateful.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2012 6:43 pm

    How’s your stress level and body fat? That does affect the female workings, but a worry is if you have IVF the daughter produced could suffer the same conception problems when it’s her turn to make you a grandma. There is no easy answer to this problem. Just keep trying I suppose,

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 26, 2012 12:29 pm

      Err..BMI is through the roof (but better than last month & I’m working onit!) and I’m not sure about stress. I’m not a naturally stressy person, I can quite easily compartmentalise feelings until I’m ready to deal with them, but I have been having awful nightmares (mainly about the zombie apocalypse) and bad headaches for the last couple of weeks. I’m wondering if I am more stressed than I realise and my body is manifesting it physically? Of course I could be talking bollocks but it would explain things.

  2. October 25, 2012 7:03 pm

    Hi, sorry to hear you are going through a tough time. The clomid should def help with the ovulating. I had that last year when I went though IUI along with gonal f injections. Hopefully your period will come soon and you can get started, its always when you want it to come it doesnt. xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 26, 2012 12:26 pm

      Thanks Elaine, appreciate your comment & your tweet. I’ve never missed a period, and like you say, it’s Sod’s law when I actually need it! I might be picking your brain more and more over the next few months. xx

  3. bincey1 permalink
    October 25, 2012 7:56 pm

    Aw Emma, fingers crossed it all comes together for you soon. Can I just say you’re very lucky to live where you do. Down here, you have to be referred to the hospital for chlomid, the gp can’t prescribe it. There’s a long wait to be seen and even then you have lots of hoops to jump through regarding BMI and lifestyle.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 26, 2012 12:25 pm

      Oh my god, that’s horrendous! I had no idea it was different around the country. I know it can be for IVF but we’ve just not looked into it. Not quite ready for that yet! Thanks Bethany. x

  4. October 25, 2012 9:08 pm

    Fingers crossed for you – there’s nothing quite so frustrating as when your own body won’t play ball, is there?

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 26, 2012 12:24 pm

      Arghh, it’s driving me mad!!

Leave a Reply

