Skip to content

The Baby Saga – Fertile Myrtle?

November 15, 2012
tags: , ,

I’ve been asked by people for an update on what’s happening with the whole baby thing. I say people, I mean two. And one of those was my sister. But still 2 is people and I need a blog post so here we are.

My period finally arrived 11 days late. Ace. It means my usually regular cycle is up the Swanee and I have no idea when I’m supposed to be ovulating. I have a telephone appointment with my doctor tomorrow to discuss whether I should go for the Day 21 Progesterone blood test again this month (which says if I’ve ovulated).

At the moment I’m spending a fortune on ovulation predictor kits just to try and get an idea of when it should be happening. Apparently the lutenizing hormone which signals the release of an egg is picked up by t he test whether an egg has been released or not, which is why I get positive OPKs but haven’t actually ovulated.

I never wanted to be one of these people who knew what OPK, LH, BFN etc etc meant. It should be sex, late period, postive test. Or in my case – honeymoon, muchas alcohol, sex, muchas alcohol, over the top reaction, positive test – I’m that classy.

I was prescribed Clomid this month so I’m hoping to be  a fertile myrtle now and be bringing positive news in a few weeks.

(Thanks again for the support everyone. People I don’t even know have been incredibly supportive which is fantastic, and very much in contrast to some friends in real life who haven’t even bothered to pick up the phone to see if I’m ok. Just for the record – right now I’m not ok, but I will be so don’t bother making the effort now).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. grumpyishmum permalink
    November 15, 2012 2:34 pm

    Oi mrs! I hope you don’t feel I’ve let you down, I have asked you haven’t I?! And if I haven’t asked you, I’ve definitely had two lengthy conversations with Craig about it. Hope you are okay soon Murphy Moo xx

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 16, 2012 5:16 pm

      Even though we’ve spoken I didn’t want to ignore this! You’ve been great, as always. xx

  2. helen permalink
    November 16, 2012 2:33 am

    You will be ok Emma and it will happen when your body is ready. Means bugger all I know but even though there are thousands of miles between us, I am always here for you. You know that. Love you lots sis x x x x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 16, 2012 5:15 pm

      Mean loads. Love you too kiddo. Miss you. xx

Leave a Reply

