Skip to content

Meat free Monday

October 13, 2013

2 posts in a week! I must be ill. 🙂

I’m doing Slimming World at the moment. I didn’t actually put that much weight on when I was pregnant with Finn & all that came off within a month. It’s the other 6 stone that I’ve gradually accumulated over the past 15 years that’s the problem!

On my first two weeks I’ve lost half a stone and that’s with a weekend away at a wedding, a decent amount of alcohol and a couple of fried breakfasts. I really need to start sticking to it though. What I like about Slimming World is that it’s more like a healthy eating plan for dummies rather than calorie counting all the time which just gets me frustrated. I’m trying to stick to ‘free’ foods where I can and have my syns in chocolate. I couldn’t live without a regular fix!

In addition to this we’re trying to stick to a budget to see if it’s feasible for me to go back to work 4 days a week or to buy a new bathroom – we’re not sure yet which we’re going to go for! One of our biggest expenditures is food. I can easily do 3 or 4 trips to Asda and Aldi every week and spend £150. I need to get back into meal planning. As a family, for cost and health implications, we also need to reduce the amount of meat we eat. To ease us into it I’m going to do Meat free Mondays for the foreseeable future.

Today we’ve had lentil pasta for tea (or dinner if you’re posh 😉 ). Both Craig & I love it. I think most kids would love it to but Sam is still a nightmare at eating or trying new foods so I didn’t even bother trying to get him to eat it!

Recipe (and I use this word loosely as I tend to chuck stuff in without measuring it!)

Red lentils (a couple of handfuls)
A handful of frozen onions
Garlic (however much you want – I like a lot)
Chilli (to taste)
A tin of tomatoes
Tomato paste
A veg stock cube
Mixed herbs
Enough water to cook the lentils
Pasta

Add the onions to a hot pan with some oil (or Fry Light if you’re doing SW), fry until translucent, add garlic and chilli for a few minutes until cooked. Add lentils & stir round in the yummy onions. Add the stock cube and some hot water. Cook until the lentils are soft. You might need to top with hot water now and again. Add the herbs, tomato paste and tomatoes and cook for about 10 minutes.

In the meantime cook the pasta (I like spaghetti with this but a 3kg bag of fusilli works out nice and cheap so I use this).

Stir it all together & throw a handful of whatever cheese you like on top. As I’m breast feeding I can have double the normal cheese allowance *fist pump* which makes this cheese addict very happy indeed! I use reduced fat cheddar when I’m dieting but good Parmigiana Reggiano is my preference.

Serve with garlic bread (not for me 😦 )

Delicious, hearty, warming and syn free. Craig said it was a bit mushy for him but i love it! Perfect for budgeters, dieters and vegetarians. If you want meat you can always throw some chopped up bacon in there.

If anyone can recommend some good veggie dishes or any recipes that I can do on a budget please let me know. 🙂

20131014-203743.jpg

20131014-203752.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 16, 2013 9:12 pm

    oooh we love a good pasta meal in our house so I’ll have to try this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

