Skip to content

Whitby

October 17, 2013

Last year my parents were considering buying a caravan. We had one when my sister and I were younger and we used to love it! Of course as we got older caravanning holidays weren’t cool and trips to Greek islands were. We fell out of love with the caravan and eventually my parents sold it. Now, as a parent of 2, a caravan would have been great! We encouraged them as much as we could, envisioning my towing it to various parts of the UK and enjoying family breaks. This was totally impractical bearing in mind I have never towed a caravan, didn’t have the right license and my car is too small to tow! Minor details. πŸ™‚

For various reasons, these plans were shelved and I started to look at Haven and Pontins instead.

Earlier this year my parents headed off to Whitby for a weekend away to celebrate my Dad selling his business (Bread and Basil is no more!). Whilst they were there I got a call saying they had bought a static caravan on cliff top site in Whitby. Just like that. As you do!

Fast forward a few months and we totally understand why they fell in love with Whitby. It’s a beautiful town with so much to do there and in the surrounding area. Plus the views are stunning. We go for the weekend quite often and went for a week in the summer holidays after I’d had Finn. My parents take Sam in school holidays and we’re all going up for half term in a couple of weeks. The weather has always been beautiful so we’ve gone for walks, played on the beach, on the camp site playground and hung around in town, usually at Wetherspoons. πŸ˜‰ This time I’m looking forward to exploring different parts of the East coast including Scarborough, Bridlington and possibly Filey.

Our family holidays for the foreseeable future are sorted!

20131017-195747.jpg

20131017-195810.jpg

20131017-195832.jpg

20131017-195856.jpg

20131017-195928.jpg

20131017-200053.jpg

20131017-200153.jpg

20131017-200324.jpg

20131017-200355.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2013 10:50 pm

    I love the East Coast, it’s gorgeous. Whitby will be a great place to explore as a family for the next few years.

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 18, 2013 7:57 am

      It was my first time on the East coast & I’m really impressed! Sea Life Centre Scarborough at half term!

  2. October 18, 2013 11:06 am

    I’ve never been but it looks lovely. I shall have to give it a try next year πŸ™‚

  3. October 19, 2013 10:50 am

    Aww Whitby is fab but why do parents feel the need to do that? Mine went on holiday to France and I got a phone call telling me they had bought a house and were moving over there – wouldn’t mind but I get earache for buying a top from Next… #sounfair!! x

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      October 19, 2013 11:58 am

      But we’ll do it all again with our kids. Double standards!

Leave a Reply

