Skip to content

Tell ’em about the honey mummy…

November 8, 2013

Remember that? I loved Sugar Puffs when I was young! Still do to be honest. So as you can imagine I was very excited to be offered 2 boxes of the new cereal and some cereal bars from the Honey Monster.

Sam has recently graduated to ‘normal’ breakfast foods at long last. He’s a faddy eater at the best of times but breakfast was always a battle. Most days he has beans and sausages but now, finally, we’re into cereal. He especially loves anything with chocolate unsurprisingly!

There are two cereals – Honey Wows and Choco Wows. Sam immediately claimed the Choco Wows as his which suited me as I rather fancied the honey ones!

Choco Wows

 

Honey Wows

The Choco Wows are ‘a milk chocolate coated multigrain cereal fortified with vitamins and iron’ or as Sam calls them, the chocolate circles. Delivering a range of vitamins and minerals for just 0.6g of saturated fat per serving, they’re a great breakfast for anyone. The chocolatey flavour is just right and I like to eat them without milk for a sweet snack that won’t do too much damage to the diet!

The Honey Wows are the same but instead of being coated with chocolate they are coated with honey – a particular favourite of mine. The honey flavour isn’t overwhelming which is good. I tried a new (to me) cereal a few months back because it contained honey and I just could not eat it – the sweetness was overwhelming. These though are nicely flavoured and not too sweet. Again, I love them with milk but also dip into the pack for the odd handful when I’m feeling peckish. There’s even less fat in these with just 0.5g of saturated fat per serving.

Also new from the Honey Monster are Stix – crisp rice and cereal bars containing either Honeycomb & milk chocolate or marshmallow & vanilla yoghurt. Nom. Seriously, nom. We couldn’t decide which of these we preferred as a family but I think I’m leaning towards the marshmallow ones. Light, fluffy & delicious with only 3% of a child’s daily calories, sugar and saturated fat. A yummy, healthy snack for them.

choc stixwhite stix

 

 

Ultimately though, the main question is – would I pay good money for them? Yes I would. The cereals are low in fat, high in taste, keep me feeling full until lunch and count towards my daily vitamin and mineral allowance. For Sam, they are tasty enough to keep him interested without too much sugar. I’m quite happy with him going to school after a bowl full of these. The Stix bars are just fit and I will be buying them again for our family.

choco wowsempty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(I was sent a sample of each of these but was not told what to write. All opinions are my own.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. grumpyishmum permalink
    November 8, 2013 11:15 am

    You’ve made me hungry now! They look yum!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 10, 2013 11:58 pm

      I ate them all. Sorry. 🙂

  2. November 8, 2013 11:57 am

    Yum… Must admit I do love the honey monster lol

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 10, 2013 11:58 pm

      Me too! He’s ace!

  3. November 8, 2013 5:21 pm

    I think my kids would love the chocolate ones – they’re not so keen on honey – although I’m sure they’d probably eat the bars whatever they were flavoured with as long as they had marshmallows!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 10, 2013 11:58 pm

      Can’t fault them. Marshmallows make everything yummy! Except mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

