Skip to content

Tomy Video Monitor- a review

November 17, 2013

When I was pregnant with Finn I had a big ol’ list of things to buy. At the top of it was a baby monitor with video. We had one given to us when Sam was born and I loved it! Before we had it we were running upstairs at every little murmur and snuffle he made and, as any parents will know, that’s an awful lot of running! Having the video monitor meant we could just look to see if he was ok and not disturb him by rushing into the bedroom every half an hour.

Video monitors vary an awful lot. The picture can be grainy and the sounds great, the sound can be poor but the video fantastic. It’s a bit of a minefield, and unless you read a lot of reviews you’re not going to know how good it is until you try it.

Well, I think I can help you out! A month or so ago I was sent a new monitor (it went on sale 1st November) from Tomy to review and it is fantastic!

‘Tomy’s Digital TFV600 Video Monitor has been developed to give you constant video monitoring of your baby, even in the dark, with it’s built in nightvision.’

This was so easy to set up. We literally plugged it in, angled the camera to Finn’s cot and away we were. We were surprised by how clear the picture was. We had bought a video monitor before he was born (I’m not naming the brand!) and weren’t impressed with the fuzzy pictures. Even at night you can make out Finn’s face easily and tell which baby grow he’s wearing. There is an adjustable zoom which we found useful as we don’t have anywhere particularly close to his crib which we could put the camera. The sound quality is excellent. So much so that I have to turn it down when Finn isn’t in bed so I can’t hear everything going on upstairs during play time and bath time! There is also a sound sensor which visually shows you if there is any noise being made. I like this because I have been known to leave the sound off! At least this was I can see if Finn’s awake and needs me. 

Other features I particularly like are the temperature display (at this time of year I find it invaluable) so I can adjust Finn’s sleep wear as needed; the remote control lullabies (I put these on when I put Finn down and he now knows it’s his cue for sleep), the two way talkback (I’ve not needed this for Finn yet but it’s come in very handy to scare the bejesus out of Sam when he’s naughtily jumping on our bed!), the nightlight (I don’t have to turn the big light on when I’m fumbling for my pyjamas!)

All in all I don’t have a bad word to say about this monitor, genuinely. We are completely thrilled with it and have already recommended it to friends. 

Craig is notoriously hard to please but when I asked him what he thought of it he said, ‘Picture quality amazing, sound is fantastic. If I had to send this back I’d go out and buy one, it’s that good.’

There we go then! Would we pay good money for it? Without hesitating. We’ve had three video monitors over the years and this is by far the best. If you are pregnant, or already have a baby, you need this in your life. 

It’s currently available on Amazon here

(Disclosure: I was sent the monitor for a review but was not paid for my time or told what to write. We love it. Simples.)

20131117-201058.jpg

20131117-201109.jpg

20131117-201116.jpg

20131117-201124.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2013 9:08 pm

    we have a great video monitor, i wouldn’t do without it. it is connected to our mobile phones via an app. Definitely the way forward, especially if your a bit of a panicky mum like i am!!

    • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
      November 18, 2013 10:00 pm

      I think this can do something like that (so my husband tells me!) but I haven’t been technologically minded enough to work it out yet! I’m a panicky mum as well. I can see his chest/tummy rising on this which makes me feel so much better!

      • November 18, 2013 10:17 pm

        What age is he? I used to love being able to sing my little man twinkle twinkle when he became unsettled in the mornings, just gives you another five mins in bed. My monster is thirteen months and i see us using the monitor for quite some time.

      • notsuchayummymummy permalink*
        November 18, 2013 10:29 pm

        We used a monitor with Sam until he was almost 3! Might be just us though 🙂 Finn’s almost 4 months so will be get an awful lot of use! I think the talkback bit will come into it’s own when he’s a bit older. And the lullabies too actually!

  2. December 6, 2013 11:50 am

    Thanks for review, seems like a good stuff. It really does help parents as well as little treasure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

