Skip to content

Life

July 10, 2015

So life happened. An almost full time job, two children, one husband. The blog didn’t get a look in. I’ve spent most evenings sitting in front of the TV with the iPad wondering where the hours have gone and creating blog posts in my mind, knowing full well I couldn’t be bothered to post them.  

Blogging got weird. Brands got involved, people got competitive. Blogs I used to love reading were sponsored post after sponsored post after review. I read comments slating other bloggers who had been given fantastic holidays when they hadn’t. I actually read someone’s rant on how come they were pregnant and hadn’t been given a free pram when others had. It was nasty & bitchy and I completely removed myself from the social media side of it. I’ve kept in touch with bloggers who are also my friends and whose blogs I actually enjoy. I still read blogs every night before bed but they tend to be plus size fashion, beauty and nail bloggers. I just didn’t want to get back into blogging again. 

Last night though I was doing some Facebook stalking (as we all do) and saw a comment from a blogger I used to read 5 or 6 years ago. I clicked through to her blog & saw a comment from another blogger who, the last I read, hadn’t posted since 2011. I loved her blog back then. Funny, witty & insightful posts about life and her family. No sponsored posts, no reviews. Just a normal blog. I used to comment on hers, she commented on mine. And then she was gone! 

But now she’s back! (Hi Mwa!) She’s been posting since March and I didn’t know. Tonight I’m getting a bottle of wine and will catch up. She’s inspired me to get back to this. To record parts of our life again. 

I look back at the blog when I first started it and I love the stories about baby Sam. I want those memories of Finn too. The funny things he says and does. How he doesn’t call Sam, Sam but ‘brubber’ (brother). How everything is ‘mine’ and ‘why’ is his favourite word. His little voice that says ‘no ankoo mummeee’ when I say it’s time for bed. That’s what blogging is for me.  

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. getoutandseestuff permalink
    July 10, 2015 12:17 pm

    Love this Emma!! Welcome back 🙂 x

  2. mwaonline permalink
    July 11, 2015 10:36 pm

    Oh good you’re back!!!
    I know how life just happens like that…

  3. mwaonline permalink
    July 11, 2015 10:38 pm

    Good to have you back! X

Leave a Reply

